Top header photo
 Trainiax logo

Locomotive Phases - EMD SD20

The SD20 is an Illinois Central rebuild of older SD-series locomotives, including the SD7, SD24, SD24B and SD35. The phases below are for the SD20 rebuilds themselves (excluding those rebuilt from SD35s) and do not reflect the phases of the original locomotives prior to rebuilding.

These phases are of my own making. I have grouped together three variations as Phase 3a, 3b and 3c (rather than 3, 4 and 5) because Phases 3a and 3b account for only three locomotives.


Phase 1: IC 2000-2011

Phase 2: IC 2012-2023

Phase 3a: IC 2024

Phase 3b: IC 2025-2026

Phase 3c: IC 2027-2037

Other details